Read-Only Read-Only Topic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
CP + tretinoin Login/Join

posted   Report This Post  
I am new to CP products but have been using prescription tretinoin (retin-a) for 2 1/2 years. I see some of the CP products have retinol in them so that leads me to wonder can I mix my tretinoin with my CP product?

asphaltsally
Picture of Skin Biology
posted   Hide PostReport This Post  
Dear asphaltsally:

Welcome! Glad to have you with us.

At times we've had confusion over our products that contain retinyl-palmitate.

Retinol (retinyl-palmitate) when added to our products works as an effective lipid replenisher or moisturizer - It is very different than Retin-A.

Although both Retin-A and retinyl-palmitate are derived from vitamin A, they act differently. A small amount of topical retinol also is converted in the skin to retinoic acid. But this is a small amount.

Retin-A, which is prescription only, can cause a dryness and some find that their skin is very sensitive to it. Whereas the retinol/retinyl-palmitate found in our creams, etc is added for its ability to serve as a wonderful moisturizer and the other skin healthy properties it has.

Can Copper-Peptides and Retinoic Acid Products Be Used Together?
Yes. Retin-A can be used along with Skin Biology's copper-peptide products. The retinoic acid product would be applied first and then, after approx. 5-10 minutes, copper-peptides could be lightly applied on top. See further suggestions below:

We can advise clients that Retin-A, depending on the percentage prescribed to them, might increase the uptake of copper-peptides applied directly on top. So our copper-peptides may feel stronger after an application of Retin-A. Therefore, it is important to apply the copper-peptide product very lightly.

How to layer:

• If you are using a copper-peptide oil-free serum (or liquid):
Apply the copper-peptides first then your Retin-A cream can be applied lightly on top.

• If you are using a copper-peptide cream: