Skin Biology    healthyskin.infopop.cc    SKIN BIOLOGY OFFICIAL CHAT FORUM | Free Skin Consultation 1-800-405-1912  Hop To Forum Categories  Products  Hop To Forums  Hair    Hair Loss...So sad. Please help. Dr. Pickart?

Moderators: Rosy

Read-Only Read-Only Topic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Hair Loss...So sad. Please help. Dr. Pickart? Login/Join

posted   Report This Post  
Hi, Everyone.
I guess I'll start with a little of my history. I am a 42 year old female and I have been losing my hair for over 6 years. I noticed regular shedding, but didn't think anything of it until I started thinning. The routine for me is to shed heavily for 3-4 months (like 300 hairs a day...yes, I counted) then to have almost no loss for about 3 months. The hairs start to come back and I have losts of fuzzy regrowth that sticks out oddly. But each time it happens, I get a little thinner.

I made the mistake of using minoxidil 5% for a couple of years. I still had the same shedding schedule so I stopped. Now, a year since stopping, my shedding has gone on much longer.

I restarted the minoxidil and started taking 2000 mg of biotin twice daily along with a prenatal vitamin. (no, not pregnant...but I had super nice hair and nails when I took them so I figured, what the heck.)

I have seen my regular doctor, dermatologist, and gynocologist. I have had my hormone levels tested 3 times. All times everything was within the normal limits. My feeling is normal for who??? I have felt like I have been starting menopause for a couple of years. Not full on, but several times a year I awake with nightsweats and have been having some "hot flash" type behaviors recently. I have some moderate PMS and had an ablation a couple of years ago to help with abnormally heavy periods. (Sorry for TMI, but if it helps to have my background and is meaningful...I'll do pretty much anything.)