Read-Only Read-Only Topic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
SUNSCREENS??? WHAT TO BUY??? HELP ME PLEASE??? Login/Join

posted   Report This Post  
Hello everyone. I'm pretty new to this whole skinbiology website and it's products as well as this forum. And am so confused about all this info about sunscreens! I've read through some of the posts and am now throughly confused. All these terms like Anthelios, Vichy, physical sunscreens, chemical sunscreens, estrogenic, Tinosorb, Mexyorl , free radicals, .......

Skinbiology says zinc oxides are okay, but then some of you say (Kathleen, JW) that they dont provide enough protection??? And that zinc oxide's, zinc ions can displace copper ions and reduce skin regeneration and renewal. What about this encapsulation and micronized thing for certain blockers???

Then I read this , which Kathleen posted "To make matters worse, I've come across an article that REALLY has me rethinking the whole sunscreen thing.

If you read far enough, they talk about measuring sunsceen UVA efficacy with PPD. I think is used in Europe now. I was shocked to fnd that ingredients I thought were very good, like zinc and titanium, have a very high drop off level in the higher UV range. In other words, they may only be blocking 20% of anything over a certain NM (for example). It depends on particle size, etc.

This site is recommending Tinosorb and Mexoryl, neither of which are supposed to have any estrogen causing problems.

For the average consumer, this probably does not matter. I was very interested b/c I have pigmentation on my face and it is well known that there can be no hyperpigmentation without sun exposure (in any way, shape or form.)

I am fine with my micronized sunscreens on my body, but for my face, I just ordered some of this Tinosorb stuff from Europe."

Some please help me decide on what to use?????

This message has been edited. Last edited by: SkinBiologyWebmaster,
Picture of Zuzu's Petals
posted   Hide PostReport This Post